Bonfield Express 5k Race Report

28 Nov

For the first time ever I participated in a Turkey Trot!

 

 

 

 

I wasn’t really sure I cared about doing a race again this soon but when I knew I would be in the suburbs on Thanksgiving morning I though I should probably sign up for a turkey trot. Luckily I was able to recruit my boyfriends two sisters to do it with me!

I didn’t really have any specific goals for this race besides go have fun but I knew I could probably run a decent (for me) time if I tried. I decided to make under 25 my A+ goal.

The course was more challenging than I am used to running on (i.e. the very flat lakefront path) but it was a really pretty course. I went out way to fast and semi-died on the second mile but came back for a strong finish.

  • Mile 1: 7:51
  • Mile 2: 8:16
  • Mile 3: 8:11
  • Last .11: 47 seconds
  • Final Time: 25:04
When I finished and saw that I was only 4 seconds away from my goal I was a little pissed because I knew if I was paying attention to the time I could have made myself finish faster. But I also felt like I was going to throw up so I knew I had run hard!
My most recent PR is 24:55 from the Hot Chocolate 5k last year so I have a feeling I can break that in my next race.
I was 600/4441 and 38/559 in my age group.
Congrats to Lauren and Erin who finished their first 5k ever!
One Response to “Bonfield Express 5k Race Report”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness November 28, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Nice job on the race, girl!

    I retreated to the gym for my “turkey trot”. I couldn’t drag myself out of beeeeeeedddddd….

Leave a Reply

